STEM 4033

STEM 4033  Introduction to STEM Education

This course provides an introduction to the foundations of STEM education disciplines and the strategies used to deliver integrative STEM education in the elementary and secondary school setting. The nature of STEM education disciplines, STEM pedagogy, teaching strategies, integrative STEM learning, STEM careers, and problem-centered instruction are addressed.

Fall 2017 – STEM 4033 Course Syllabus

Fall 2017 STEM 4033 Tentative Schedule

STEM Content Standards

Performance-Based-Assessment-Guide

Team Performance Rubric

Engineering-Design-Journal

Raising the Flag Design Challenge

Thursday, October 12

Tuesday, October 10 – No Class – ISEA (October 8-10)

  • Although we will not formally meet for class, your assignment is to complete the Technical Procedural Design Challenge and Curriculum Development project to be presented on October 12.
  • Readings: Using Block Play and Blocks as a Tool for Learning

Thursday, October 5

Tuesday, October 3

  • Technical Procedural Design Challenge and Curriculum Development (continued)

Thursday, September 28

  • 11:00-12:15 class – Technical Procedural Design Challenge and Curriculum Development
  • 3:30 – 4:45 class – We will not be meeting for class today, but will be traveling to R.E. Baker Elementary at 301 NW 3rd St, Bentonville, AR 72712 to help with their STEM night from 5:15 – 7:30.

Tuesday, September 26

Thursday, September 21

  • Narrative Curriculum Assignment Due
  • Presentations of Narrative Curricula
  • Technical Procedural Problem Solving
  • Reading: Chapter 5. Managing a Project (pgs. 99-131) in the PBL text

Tuesday, September 19

  • Reading Review
  • Narrative Curriculum Rough Draft Due – Peer Review using Checklist

Thursday, September 14

Tuesday, September 12

  • Reading Review
  • Curriculum Design and Assessment PP (continued)
  • Assignment 2 – Narrative Curriculum Development Project – Rough Draft for Peer Review Due September 19
  • Reading: Chapter 4. Designing a Project (pgs. 66-98) in the PBL text and Toward Narrative-Centered Learning Environments

Thursday, September 7

Tuesday, September 5

  • Reading Review
  • The Design Process – The Dog Bone Slinger
  • Reading: Chapter 2. What Is Gold Standard PBL? (pgs. 24-53) in the PBL

Thursday, August 31

Tuesday, August 29

Thursday, August 24

Tuesday, August 22